Reviews

Review: Logan

First off, I want to start by saying that Logan is the best Marvel film I have seen so far. The last time I ever felt this way about a “comic book” movie was after seeing The Dark Knight, and that says a lot. Logan lacked the quality of a fantasy/sci-fi comic book film (pretty much the opposite of X-Men Apocalypse) but that doesn’t diminish it in anyway. I feel like movie-watchers who aren’t huge comic book fans will still enjoy Logan as long as they have some background knowledge on the Wolverine. The film had grit, emotion, and character. I think James Mangold did an incredible job with directing Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart’s final film portrayal of the Wolverine and Professor X.

[Spoilers ahead!]

I went to the theater and saw Logan twice. The first time, I played close attention to the plot and character development, while the second time, I focused more on the little details and the cinematography. I highly recommend seeing it twice because I was surprised about how much I missed. Before I get into the details, I’m going to discuss the major theme I noticed in the film.

Even though comic book movies usually revolve around “good vs evil” storylines, Logan was different. Don’t get me wrong, there were antagonists and conflict, but the main theme of the film revolved around family. Three scenes in particular stuck out to me the most and really pulled at my heartstrings. The scene when they were all eating dinner at the kitchen table, smiling, and joking around, was a moment that felt “normal”. Even if it was only for a moment, it felt nice to see Logan, Charles, and Laura briefly step away from the madness and live like a normal family (before X-24 showed up of course, also why do nice helpful families always have to die??) .

The two other scenes involved Logan carrying Charles and then Laura. When Laura watched Logan carry Charles up the stairs, there was a moment of tenderness that really hit me. You could also see this happen when Logan lifted Laura off the ground (after temporarily knocking out X-24) and carried her to the truck. He was torn up, limping, in pain, but he showed a different kind of strength in those two scenes. I loved that the idea of family was emphasized in Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart’s last time playing their X-Men characters because not only did they have “father and son” relationship throughout all the X-Men movies, but because I grew up watching all the X-Men movies, and they both kind of felt like family to me. And let’s not forget the ending. When Laura turned the cross onto its side to form an X, I became a blob full of tears. I wish there could’ve been more done for Charles’ death but what more can you do when you’re on the run and most mutants are gone anyway. I think Logan was a good send off for both Jackman and Stewart. Besides Mangold’s great work on this film, Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, and Dafne Keen’s performances were outstanding.

After seeing Logan for the second time, there were many small but significant details that I noticed. In the final scene when the kids buried Logan, I noticed that one of the kids was holding a yellow suit Wolverine figurine. I loved that they brought this back into the movie because although they never really included the yellow suit in any of the recent X-Men movies, it was nice that they included some of the comics and the figurine. The character that has inspired so many deserved to make an appearance in the final moments of an era. By seeing it again, I was also able to make out some of the dialogue that I missed. For instance, Charles’ last words to Logan about being on the water and the boat they were going to buy together.

And the last thing I have to say is how glad I am that they decided to make Logan a rated R film. Following the success of Deadpool, it made sense that they would incorporate the grit, gore, and profanity that made Deadpool so popular. Seeing Charles and Logan swear at each other like a bickering father and son felt so right.

Overall, I would rate Logan a 9.5/10, and I highly recommend it to any movie lover out there regardless if you like comic books or not. 

Much Love,

Syd

Standard

Leave a Reply

