Life

Tips for Trips

Whether it’s to the next state over or across the country, I love traveling. [My goal is to one day travel to another country on a solo trip] I wouldn’t call myself a professional traveler, but I have learned a few things from the handful of trips I have been on. Since I’m going to LA for spring break this year, I decided to share them:

Plan:

  • I have a journal where I write down all the places I want to see and all the things I want to do. It’s pretty much a bucket list, but it has helped SO much. In November I went on an Arizona/Vegas/California trip for my birthday and if it wasn’t for this journal, I would’ve wasted so much time figuring out what to do. And now, I have a little checklist of all the things I’ve done in those places (and the ones I still need to do) so it’s pretty cool.

Packing: 

  • Who has time to iron clothes during a trip? I never do, but I was always annoyed with the folding lines on all of my clothes from being squashed in my suitcase. So instead of folding my clothes, I started to roll them. This not only prevents those annoying lines, but it also saves a lot of space. Roll up a few shirts and fit them in the small extra spaces in your suitcase.

Music:

  • Make a travel/trip playlist. I’ve discovered that making a (long) playlist beforehand makes traveling so much more enjoyable. Trust me, you don’t want to have to shuffle around songs while being stuck in the airport or on a long flight. My favorite thing in the world is hearing a song from my playlist in the future and immediately being reminded of the great times I had on that trip. Here are my travel playlists:
  • If you don’t have time to make a playlist, lucky for you, there are already tons out there to listen to! Here are some of my favorites:

Entertainment:

  • When I’m not listening to music, I’m either doing homework, reading, listening to an audio book, or watching Netflix. ALWAYS bring a book wherever you go, you never know if there’s going to be a delay, or if you don’t want to use up your phone/laptop battery (plus reading is great). If you’re someone who doesn’t like reading (???), audio books are great too. I’m sure everyone has heard about Audible on Amazon at some point; it’s AMAZING. There are so many books to choose from and listen to (if you want to go the free route, podcasts are a great option too). Also, I love that Netflix now allows you to download movies and TV episodes for offline streaming, perfect for the plane when you don’t want to spend $ for wifi. And don’t forget portable chargers!
  • Books I’m currently reading:

Water:

  • This isn’t really anything new but, drink LOTS of water. Headaches aren’t fun on a plane, and those tiny cups of water last about 5 sips. TSA will make you toss any bottles you have with water in it during the security screening process, but there’s a pretty simple solution: bring an empty water bottle and fill it up once you pass checking! I bring my glass water bottle pretty much everywhere I go (I think water tastes better in glass, and it’s reusable so less waste).

Much Love,

Syd

Standard

Leave a Reply

